Courtesy: Mira Nabulsi

By Daniela Olariu, RSJ ’17

Each year, the Ryerson School of Journalism awards thousands of dollars to reward academic excellence and assist students in meeting the costs of their university education.

This year, the school awarded approximately $200,000 in awards and scholarships to our undergraduate and graduate students. There were also three new awards: The Ocuis Scholarship, the Ann and Dean Tudor Award and the Anne Goldman Travel Award in Journalism. For the first time, a journalism student won the FCAD-wide Barbara Turnbull Award.

The event was filled with laughter and tears as recipients expressed their gratitude and donors, the stories behind the awards.

The Headliners were also announced at the end of the ceremony. Headliners, an award for alumni who have “made a mark”, is awarded annually by the Ryerson Journalism Alumni Association (RJAA).

Paul Hunter from the CBC, Elizabeth Renzetti from the Globe and Mail, and Zuraidah Alman, from CTV, were all chosen as this year’s Headliners to recognize exemplary journalism alumni.

To learn more about the awards and see photos of current and previous winners, visit our RSJ Awards page.

Bellow are photos from the event: